Lifetime Achievement Award

For a lifetime of contributions to the ministry

Catholic health care in the United States has been blessed with faithful leaders whose dedication throughout their careers has built the ministry and ultimately brought care and healing to persons and communities.

CHA's Lifetime Achievement Award annually recognizes someone who has inspired and mentored numerous others in Catholic health care and whose accomplishments, over the course of a career, have strengthened the ministry. Her or his leadership extends past the Catholic health ministry to influence and impact the local community and beyond.

Ron Hamel HiRes


Ron Hamel, Ph.D.
Past Member, SSM Health Ministries and Board of Directors
SSM Health 

29071 Werthman_240


Sr. Linda Werthman, RSM, Ph.D.
Former Member of Trinity Health Board
Trinity Health
Livonia, Mich.

Past Recipients


Sr. Maureen McGuire
Former Executive Vice President and Chief Mission Integration Officer
St. Louis


Sr. Doris Gottemoeller, RSM
Chair, Bon Secours Mercy Ministries, and
Board Member, Bon Secours Mercy Health


Johnny Cox, RN, Ph.D.
Former Sponsor, Providence St. Joseph Health
Renton, Washington, and
Chief Ethics Advisor
Alliance of Catholic Health Care
Sacramento, Calif.


Fr. Francis G. Morrisey, OMI, Ph.D., JCD
Professor Emeritus of Canon Law
Saint Paul University, Ottawa, Canada


Sr. Phyllis Hughes, RSM, DrPH 
Board Member, Providence St. Joseph Health, Renton, Wash.
Former Board Chair, Catholic Health Initiatives, Englewood, Colo.

Sr. Mary Jean Ryan, FSM
Past President/CEO & Board Chair, SSM Health
SSM Health St. Louis


John J. Finan, Jr. 
President and Chief Executive Officer, Franciscan Missionaries of Our Lady Health System, Baton Rouge, La.

Sr. Mary Dorothea Sondgeroth, OP
Assistant Executive Director, St. Dominic Health Services Foundation, Jackson, Miss.

Sr. Jomary Trstensky, OSF
Chairperson, Hospital Sisters Ministries
Springfield, Ill.


Sr. Barbara Moore, CSJ
Ascension Sponsor
St. Louis


Sr. Mary Mollison, CSA
Vice President, Spirituality and Care Transitions
Agnesian HealthCare
Fond du Lac, Wis.


Sr. Mary Roch Rocklage, RSM
Health Ministry Liaison
Chesterfield, Mo.

Sr. Mary Jean Tague, DC
Proyecto Juan Diego
Brownsville, Texas


Sr. Maura Brannick, CSC
Founder, Sister Maura Brannick Health Center
Saint Joseph Regional Medical Center
Mishawaka, Ind.

Rev. Msgr. Edmund J. Klimek
Senior Priest Chaplain
Sacred Heart Hospital
Eau Claire, Wis.


Msgr. Charles J. Fahey
Marie Ward Doty Professor of Aging Studies
Fordham University
Bronx, N.Y.

Sr. Kathleen Popko, SP
Sisters of Providence
Holyoke, Mass.


Sr. Generose Gervais, OSF
Administrator/Executive Director Emeritus
Saint Marys Hospital – Mayo Clinic
President, Poverello Foundation
Rochester, Minn.

Sr. Mary Patricia Barrett, CSA
Special Assistant to the President/CEO
Sisters of Charity Health System


Sr. Mary Frances Loftin, DC
Chairperson of the Board
Saint Thomas Health Services
Nashville, Tenn.
Board Member
St. Vincent's Health System
Birmingham, Ala.

Sr. Rita Thomas, CBS
Board Member
Bon Secours Hampton Roads Health System
Suffolk, Va.


Sr. Yvonne Gellise, RSM
Senior Advisor for Governance
Saint Joseph Mercy Health System
Ann Arbor, Mich.


Sr. Monica Heeran, CSJP
Board Chair, Volunteers in Medicine Clinic
Board Member
Eugene, Ore.


Sr. Mary Trinita Eddington, OP
Vice President, Community Health Services
St. Dominic Health Services
Jackson, Miss.


John (Jack) W. Glaser, STD
Senior Vice President, Theology and Ethics, and
Director of the Center for Healthcare Reform
St. Joseph Health System
Orange, Calif.


Daniel F. Russell
President Emeritus
Catholic Health East


Sr. Mary Eileen Wilhelm, RSM
President and Chief Executive Officer
Mercy Medical
Daphne, Ala.

A "Generation of Ethicists" (six individuals):

Fr. Benedict M. Ashley, OP
Adjunct Professor
Center for Health Care Ethics
Saint Louis University and
Professor Emeritus of Moral Theology
Aquinas Institute of Theology
St. Louis

John Collins Harvey, MD, Ph.D.
Senior Research Scholar and Professor Emeritus of Medicine
Center for Clinical Bioethics
Georgetown University Medical Center
Washington, D.C.

Fr. Richard A. McCormick
Former John A. O'Brien Professor of Christian Ethics
Notre Dame University (posthumously)

Fr. Albert S. Moraczewski, OP, Ph.D., STM
President Emeritus
National Catholic Bioethics Center

Fr. Kevin D. O'Rourke, OP, JCD, STM
Professor of Bioethics
Neiswanger Institute for Bioethics and Health Policy
Stritch School of Medicine
Loyola University Chicago

Edmund D. Pellegrino, MD
Professor Emeritus of Medicine and Medical Ethics and
Senior Research Scholar
Kennedy Institute of Ethics and
Adjunct Professor of Philosophy
Georgetown University
Washington, D.C.


Sr. Bernice Coreil, DC
Executive Advisor to the President
Ascension Health
St. Louis


Sr. Mary Caritas Geary, SP
Advocacy Coordinator
Sisters of Providence
Holyoke, Mass.


Brother Philip Kennedy, CFA
Elk Grove Village, Ill.


Sr. Mary Maurita Sengelaub, RSM
Sister Trustee
Sisters of Mercy Regional Community of Detroit


Sr. Mary Rose McPhee, DC
Executive Director
Seton Cove
Austin, Texas