Physician Advisory Council

The Catholic Health Association desires to strengthen the relationships between physicians and the Catholic health ministry, and to more fully engage and integrate physician leaders in CHA’s formational and educational programs and projects.The Physician Advisory Council is part of this effort.


Raymond Weick, MD
Medical Chairman
Mercy Hospital Jefferson


Marisa Emmons, MD 
Board Member
CHRISTUS Physician Group
Lois Lane, J.D., MA
Vice President, Mission Integration
Catholic Health Initiatives
John McCurley, MD
Chief Medical Officer
Bon Secours Richmond Health System
Thomas T. Mydler, MD 
Chief Medical Officer
Good Samaritan Medical Center


Mimi E. Pattison, MD
Medical Director
Franciscan Hospice & Palliative Care


Estrellita H. Redmon, MD 
President St. Vincent's Medical Group and
Clinical Integration 
Ascension - St. Vincent's Center Riverside


Martin J. Schreiber, Ed.D. 
Vice President, Mission
Mercy Hospital Fort Smith


Todd Strumwasser, MD 
Senior Vice President Operations
San Francisco Bay Area
Dignity Health 


Steve Tappe, MTS
Vice President, Mission
Avera Medical Group
Avera Health


Curt R. Ward, MD, MBA, FAAFP
Director, Ministry Formation
Ascension Health

Staff Coordinator

Brian P. Smith, MS, MA, M.Div.
Vice President, Sponsorship and Mission Services
Catholic Health Association