CHA Board of Trustees

The CHA Board of Trustees is responsible for overseeing the affairs of CHA and for setting its strategic direction. Members of the board (other than the President/CEO, who serves ex-officio) are elected to serve three-year terms and may be re-elected to serve second three-year terms. A board member is limited to serving two consecutive terms. Board members and the Vice Chairperson/Chairperson-elect are nominated by the CHA Governance Committee and are elected by vote of the CHA Membership Assembly. The CHA staff contact is Catherine A. Hurley, Esq., Vice President, General Counsel/Compliance Officer.

2018-19 Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees Chairperson
Michael A. Slubowski, FACHE, FACMPE
President and Chief Operating Officer
Trinity Health
Vice Chairperson/Chairperson-Elect
Kevin J. Sexton
Board Member, Catholic Health Association
Speaker of the Membership Assembly
Rodney F. Hochman, MD
President and Chief Executive Officer
Providence St. Joseph Health
President & Chief Executive Officer
Sr. Carol Keehan, DC


Damond W. Boatwright, FACHE
Regional President, Operations
SSM Health of Wisconsin
Rev. Joseph P. Cardone, Ph.D.
Chief Mission Officer
Bon Secours Mercy Health
Jane Durney Crowley, BSN, MHA, FACHE
Senior Partner
O'Brien Group
Cathleen P. Eldridge, MBA
Eldridge Consulting, Inc.
Deborah J. Fischer-Clemens, BSN, MHA
Senior Vice President, Avera Center for Public Policy
Avera Health
Dougal G. Hewitt
Executive Vice President and Chief Mission Officer
Providence St. Joseph Health
Orest Holubec
Senior Vice President, Chief Communications Officer
Providence St. Joseph Health
Elizabeth I. Keith
Executive Vice President, Sponsorship and Mission Integration
Dignity Health
Matthew J. Lambert, III, MD, MBA
Board Member
Hospital Sisters Health System
Julie S. Manas, MHA
Ascension St. Vincent North Region
Patricia A. Maryland, Dr.PH, FACHE
President and Chief Executive Officer
Ascension Health
Rhonda M. Medows, MD, FAAFP
President, Population Health Management
Providence St. Joseph Health
Stephanie A. Mills, MD, MHCM
inHealth Strategies
Michael R. Panicola, Ph.D.
Board Member, Catholic Health Association
Sr. Patricia L. Rayburn, OSF
Board Member, Catholic Health Association
Karen G. Reich, MSW, DCSW, FACHE
Chief Executive Officer/System Senior Services
Bon Secours St. Petersburg Health System
Carolina Reyes, MD
Board Member
Providence St. Joseph Health
Darryl Robinson
Senior Executive Vice President, Chief Human Resources Officer
CommonSpirit Health
Gabriela Saenz, JD
Vice President, Advocacy and Public Policy
Most Rev. George L. Thomas, Ph.D.
Bishop of Las Vegas
Diocese of Las Vegas

USCCB Episcopal Liaison
Most Rev. Samuel J. Aquila, DD
Archbishop of Denver
Archdiocese of Denver
Corporate Secretary
Catherine A. Hurley, Esq.
Vice President, General Counsel / Compliance Officer
Catholic Health Association
Corporate Treasurer
Rhonda E. Mueller, CPA
Senior Vice President, Finance and Operations
Catholic Health Association