Seventeen ministry facilities earn Magnet designation or redesignation in 2014

April 15, 2015

Members of the Catholic health ministry are among the health care facilities that the American Nurses Credentialing Center designated or redesignated with Magnet status last year.

The credentialing organization recognizes health care providers with the status when they have completed an application process and met a rigorous set of standards that demonstrate that they are promoting quality care, excelling in the delivery of nursing services and disseminating best practices in nursing service.

The 17 CHA members designated or redesignated in 2014 are:

  • Avera McKennan Hospital & University Medical Center, Sioux Falls, S.D.
  • Bon Secours Memorial Regional Medical Center, Mechanicsville, Va.
  • CHI Health Lakeside, Omaha, Neb.
  • CHI Health St. Elizabeth, Lincoln, Neb.
  • CHI St. Luke's Health-Baylor St. Luke's Medical Center, Houston
  • Emory Saint Joseph's Hospital, Atlanta
  • Good Samaritan Hospital, Dayton, Ohio
  • Holy Name Medical Center, Teaneck, N.J.
  • Loyola University Health System, Maywood, Ill.
  • Mercy Health-Fairfield Hospital, Fairfield, Ohio
  • Mercy Medical Center-Dubuque, Dubuque, Iowa
  • Our Lady of the Lake Regional Medical Center, Baton Rouge, La.
  • Penrose-St. Francis Health Services, Colorado Springs, Colo.
  • Providence St. Vincent Medical Center, Portland, Ore.
  • St. Joseph Hospital, Nashua, N.H.
  • St. Joseph Medical Center, Kansas City, Mo.
  • St. Joseph's Regional Medical Center, Paterson, N.J.

According to the credentialing center, there are 410 Magnet facilities worldwide. A complete list is available online:


Copyright © 2015 by the Catholic Health Association of the United States
For reprint permission, contact Betty Crosby or call (314) 253-3477.