



Inspiring medicine. Changing lives.











March 17, 2015

The Honorable James Inhofe Chairman, U.S. Senate Committee on **Environment & Public Works** 205 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Tom Udall 531 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Barbara Boxer Ranking Member, U.S. Senate Committee on Environment & Public Works 112 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable David Vitter 516 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Dear Chairman Inhofe, Ranking Member Boxer, Senator Udall, and Senator Vitter,

On behalf of the signing health care organizations, we are writing to express our serious concerns about the Frank R. Lautenberg Chemical Safety for the 21st Century Act (S. 697), which was introduced to reform the Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA). In its current form, the legislation has serious flaws that undermine protection of human health and the environment and could result in more harm than good if enacted. All of these flaws, however, could readily be addressed by making a limited number of changes.

While the evidence linking chemical exposures to negative health outcomes continues to rise, including increases in disease and conditions such as cancers, birth defects, asthma, and infertility, the federal law created to protect the public from hazardous chemicals has not been updated for thirty-nine years. As a result, products and their manufacture and disposal can release hazardous chemicals with the potential to harm human health and the environment. Exposure to these chemicals results in a disease burden that can significantly increase health care costs.

Moreover, patients and workers in the health care setting are exposed every day to a wide range of chemicals, including cleaners and disinfectants, phthalates in medical devices, flame retardants and formaldehyde in furniture, and solvents and formaldehyde in labs, among many others. These products also have life cycle impacts, affecting the workers who manufacture them and the communities that host manufacturing or disposal facilities.

While we acknowledge the work that has gone into developing this new legislation, we are deeply concerned about the following flaws in its current form:

- Preemption of new state actions on toxic chemicals years before the U.S.
 Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) has taken any steps to protect people from these substances. The appropriate time to preempt state action is at the effective date of EPA action on a chemical.
- No ability for the public to sue EPA if the agency designates a potentially harmful chemical as a "low priority," which it can do under the legislation with very little review for safety.
- A weakening of the federal government's ability to stop the importation of products into the U.S. that contain toxic chemicals.
- Additional and likely insurmountable regulatory hoops for EPA to jump through before it can regulate a product that contains chemicals the agency has already designated as harmful.
- Ban on states from enforcing state restrictions that are identical to federal restrictions, which is a significant departure from other environmental and consumer protection laws.
- Inadequate fees from industry to cover the cost of a robust regulatory program.

Our organizations are committed not only to healing, but to prevention. Addressing the shortcomings of the chemical regulatory system by reforming TSCA is one of the most critical initiatives to prevent disease and to protect public health, but only if it is done right.

Sincerely,
Advocate Health Care
The Catholic Health Association of the United States
Dignity Health
Hackensack University Medical Center
Health Care Without Harm
Mt. Sinai Hospital – Children's Environmental Health Center

cc: The Honorable John Barrasso
The Honorable Shelley Moore Capito
The Honorable Mike Crapo
The Honorable John Boozman
The Honorable Jeff Sessions
The Honorable Roger F. Wicker
The Honorable Deb Fischer
The Honorable Mike Rounds
The Honorable Dan Sullivan

The Honorable Thomas R. Carper
The Honorable Benjamin L. Cardin
The Honorable Bernard Sanders
The Honorable Sheldon Whitehouse
The Honorable Jeff Merkley
The Honorable Kirsten Gillibrand
The Honorable Cory A. Booker
The Honorable Edward Markey