• Building Bridges By Faith
  • 2017 Catholic Health Assembly


Each year at the Catholic Health Assembly, the Catholic Health Association of the United States offers four awards that recognize remarkable contributions to Catholic health care. The awards are:


For innovative programming that changes lives.

Each year, CHA's Achievement Citation recognizes an outstanding program or service that exemplifies the ministry's commitment to carry on Jesus' mission of compassion and healing. The Achievement Citation is given to a CHA-member organization that is the creator and lead sponsor or partner in an original, bold, innovative program that delivers measurable results for the community served. The recipient program is selected because it inspires the sponsoring organization, the people it serves and the broader community and beyond. The program is available for replication within CHA's membership.

LIGHT Program - Avera Health


For demonstrated creativity and breakthrough thinking

This award shines the spotlight on trailblazing leaders who demonstrate an understanding of ministry identity rooted in the church and an approach to health care that emphasizes collaboration and interdisciplinary approaches. The award draws critical attention to the innovative ideas and achievements by which these leaders have taken Catholic health care in new directions.

Lynn Britton
President and Chief Executive Officer, Mercy, St. Louis
Susan L. Davis, RN, EdD
Senior Vice President, Ascension Healthcare, Gulf Coast Market; President and Chief Executive Officer, Sacred Heart Health System, Pensacola, Fla.
Rich Statuto
Chief Executive Officer and President, Bon Secours Health System, Inc., Marriottsville, Md.


For a lifetime of contributions

This award is conferred each year upon an acknowledged leader of the health ministry who has inspired and mentored numerous others. The individual's leadership extends past the Catholic health ministry to influence and impact the local community and beyond.

John J. Finan, Jr.
President and Chief Executive Officer, Franciscan Missionaries of Our Lady Health System, Baton Rouge, La.
Sr. Mary Dorothea Sondgeroth, OP
Assistant Executive Director, St. Dominic Health Services Foundation, Jackson, Miss.
Sr. Jomary Trstensky, OSF
Chairperson, Hospital Sisters Ministries, Springfield, Ill.


Honoring young people who will guide our ministry in the future

The Catholic health ministry of tomorrow will depend on strong leadership and passionate commitment to the healing mission. Encouraging the promising young leaders of today to continue their careers in the ministry, CHA's Tomorrow's Leaders program each year honors an impressive cadre of dedicated, high-performing individuals who already have demonstrated commitment to advancing the mission of Catholic health care.

» CHA salutes exceptional young leaders in the ministry

Jim Boyle
Vice President, Information Services, St. Joseph Heritage Healthcare, St. Joseph Health, Anaheim, Calif.

Kevin Cullinan
Market Director, Perioperative Services and Orthopedics, CHI St. Vincent, Little Rock, Ark.

Kay Gorka
Manager, Spiritual Care Services, Providence Health & Services Eastern Washington: Providence Sacred Heart Medical Center, Holy Family Hospital, and Medical Clinics, Spokane, Wash.
Kevin D. Howard, DO
Bon Secours Kentucky Health System, Director, Physician Residency Program, Our Lady of Bellefonte Hospital,
Ashland, Ky.

Ji Im

Senior Director, Community and Population Health, Dignity Health, San Francisco

Rachel Lucy
Director, Learning and Development, PeaceHealth, Vancouver, Wash.

Michael McQueary
Manager, Foundation and Advocacy and Government Relations, Mercy Health, Cincinnati
Michael Miller, Jr.
Regional Chief Mission Officer, Saint Joseph Mercy Health System, Canton, Mich.

Asha S. Rodriguez
Administrator, CHRISTUS Santa Rosa Hospital – Medical Center, San Antonio

Johnny A. Smith, Jr.
Senior Director, Public Relations, Ascension, St. Louis

Will Snyder 
System Vice President, External Affairs, Presence Health, Chicago